Golf ball on tee with driver

Tevor Fisher Jnr slumped to a one-over 73 during the third day on Saturday (today) to end the day on 13 under total 203 going into the final round tomorrow but Scot Doug McGuigan’s record 63 narrowed Fisher’s lead.

McGuigan hit a course-record equalling nine-under-par 63 in the 2017 Zimbabwe Open at Royal Harare Golf Club to move up to second on 11 under total 205 just two shots off Fisher Jnr  going into the final day of the Zimbabwe Open with 1.8 million rand prize money.

Overnight leader Fisher Jnr battled from the start after a bogey on the first, followed by a run of pars until the 10th hole where he made a second bogey.

He got one stroke back on 11, but dropped again on 13, before making a 25-footer on the par-three 15th for birdie.

McGuigan has all the momentum after his third-round course-record equalling nine-under-par 63.

He made 10 birdies and a bogey and he climbed to 11-under-part two shots off the lead of Fisher Jnr, who had a 63 of his own in the second round, but slumped to a one-over 73 in the third.

Jaco Ahlers carded a four-under-par 68 to move into third place three shot off Fisher’s pace, while Toby Tree and Andrew Curlewis were one shot further back in fourth.

Fisher Jnr equalled the Royal Harare Golf Club course record of nine-under-par 63 on Friday to move into a four-stroke lead at the halfway mark of the 2017 Zimbabwe Open.

He joined Nick Price, Italian Francesco Laporta and 2015 champion Dean Burmester as holders of the record with a flawless display which included nine birdies.

His playing partners Jean Hugo walked away in disappointment after dropping to joint 6th on 8 under with six others.

Zimbabwe’s Ryan Cairns is joint 16th still on -5 after a level par today for a total 211  but Trainos Murazikwa had rounds of 69 and 76, shot one under 71 total 215 joint 41st.

Tongo Charamba ended the day five over joint 46th together with Mark Williams who shot one under 71 for total 216 joint 46th.

Gary Thompson 74 and 71 finished three over 74 total 219 joint with Stephen Ferreira.

No local player has won the tournament since its return on the Sunshine Tour in 2010.