With Friday set as the crowning night for the country’s best footballer in the 2017 Castle Lager Premier Soccer League, all eyes will be on who will win it.

Former winners of the accolade expressed the delight the accolade brings to any player.

The Soccer Star of the Year award has been won by a number of celebrated players that include the legendary George Shaya, Japhet Mparutsa, Stanley Ndunduma, Peter Ndlovu, Mercedes Rambo Sibanda and Moses Chunga.

All would easily concede to the pride it brings a player to be chosen as the best in the country for the particular season although it comes along with its own set of challenges.

Former soccer stars; Hardlife Zvirekwi, Dazzy Kapenya and Charles Sibanda said it is a great honour to win the accolade considering the stiff competition from other players.

“Just being amongst the best 11 is a great achievement, but being voted the best is the greatest honour in local football,” said Kapenya.

Modern day football has seen winners being expected to move to bigger leagues, an act that is not very easy as a lot also depends on the player’s management team in getting him a contract.

The past soccer stars challenged the man who will win this Friday’s top award to remain focused as a lot of expectations will be on his shoulders to duplicate his 2017 performance next season.

Following the selection of the 2017 soccer stars, diminutive Clemence Matawu joined an elite league made up of former greats like George Shaya and Sunday Chidzambga who managed to be voted into the calendar six times.

The soccer star of the year will be chosen from a list of the 11 best players already selected and thsese are:

Ocean Mushure (Dynamos)

Christian Epoupa (Dynamos)

Clement Matawu (Chicken Inn)

Moses Jackson (Chicken Inn)

Devon Chafa (Caps United)

Dominic Chungwa (Caps United)

Terence Dzvukamanja (Ngezi Platinum)

Tichaona Mabvura (Ngezi Platinum)

Qadr Amini (Ngezi Platinum)

Rodwell Chinyengetere (FC Platinum)

Kelvin Moyo (FC Platinum).