A total of 270 National Assembly members and 80 Senators have taken new oath of office at a swearing-in ceremony held at Parliament building in Harare today.

The swearing-in of Members of Parliament (MPs) and Senators who were elected during the 2018 harmonised polls was conducted in Harare where the Clerk of Parliament Mr Kennedy Chokuda presided over the occasion.

The swearing-in of National Assembly members was conducted in groups of 10s as the August House was too small to accommodate the large number of legislators while Senators were in groups of 5.

Other new legislators and Senators expressed their preparedness to represent the wishes of the people and put national interest ahead of political affiliations.

After scooping a two thirds majority, Zanu PF is expected to dominate the 9th Parliament while MDC Alliance will play a watchdog role without their leader Advocate Nelson Chamisa who will be following parliament business from the terraces.

Now that everything has been said and done about the swearing of parliamentarians, the ball is now in President Emmerson Mnangagwa’s court to pick or announce his much awaited new cabinet.