morgan-tsvangirai_1.jpgAs cracks continue to widen in the MDC-T, ZBC News is reliably informed that five ministers have been recalled by the party president, Mr. Morgan Tsvangirai, for alleged non-performance.   


Sources say the five, who have since ceased to be ministers of the inclusive government, include Minister of Energy and Power Development, Engineer Elias Mudzuri and Minister of Housing and Social Amenities, Mr. Fidelis Mhashu, who have lost their ministerial posts for allegedly failing to perform.


In the inclusive government, the three principals can recall ministers from their respective political parties and submit new names to the Head of State and Government and Commander-in-Chief of the Zimbabwe Defence Forces, President Robert Mugabe, for consideration. 


 The sources said Deputy Minister of Justice and Legal Affairs, Jessie Majome and the Deputy Minister of Women’s Affairs, Gender and Community Development, Evelyn Masaiti have also been recalled.


The Deputy Minister of Youth Development, Indigenisation and Empowerment, Thamsanqa Mahlangu has also not been spared. ‘


ZBC News has it in good authority that Mr. Tapiwa Mashakada’s name is among those that will be submitted to President Mugabe for consideration.


Other sources also say Giles Mutsekwa (co-Home Affairs), Theresa Makone (Public Works), Nelson Chamisa (ICT) and Jameson Timba (deputy Media, Information and Publicity) may also face the axe.

Meanwhile, Mr. Elton Mangoma is tipped to take over as Minister of Energy and Power Development, a post left vacant following the recalling of Engineer Mudzuri.


While non-performance has been cited for the recall, insiders say this is part of party president, Mr. Tsvangirai’s move to surround himself with those he can trust following power struggles between himself and party secretary-general, Mr. Tendai Biti.


Earlier during the day, ZBC News had been put on standby for a press conference by the party’s information office, which never materialised.


When pressed for comment over the issue, party spokesperson, Mr. Nelson Chamisa referred all questions to Mr. James Maridadi, who also excused himself, citing unending meetings.


MDC-T leader, Morgan Tsvangirai at his party’s second congress in 2006, promised to hand over power once Zimbabwe was restored to full democracy.

He said he had no intention of holding on to power, adding that a new Zimbabwe had no room for life presidents.

However, the MDC-T has since amended its constitution, dropping clauses limiting the president and his deputy’s terms in office.

According to the MDC-T constitution, the party president only has two terms, after which a new candidate should take over. Mr Tsvangirai’s second term will expire next year at the party’s congress, where he is expected to hand over power.