Cde Ezra Chadzamira has been elected the substantive chairperson for Zanu PF Masvingo Province after receiving 29 543 votes to beat his fellow party member, Cde Mutero Masanganise who accrued 1080 votes.

A total of 30 742 people from Masvingo Province took to the polls this Saturday to elect a new chairperson in a re-run of elections.

The elections retaining officer, Ambassador Cain Mathema, who announced the results, applauded members of the Zanu PF Central Committee and the Masvingo Provincial Coordinating Committee for conducting the polls in a peaceful manner.

He reminded the Masvingo provincial party leadership that unity is key in everything they do, citing that no individual is bigger than the party.

“Whatever we do in terms of creating our own structures, we must always work together. None of us is bigger than the party,” he said.

The party members were also urged to be peaceful as they go towards the 2018 general elections.