ZRP Buchwa were crowned the 2019 champion of champions title winners following an enthralling 19-18 victory over Flying Eagles in a tensely fought darts final held in Kwekwe yesterday evening.

It was a tense and befitting finale to the champion of champions final where Brighton Mundanganyi showed nerves of steel to hand ZRP Buchwa an all important tie break victory in a contest that had been deadlocked at 18-all.

The 19-18 win also saw ZRP Buchwa ending the games as the invincibles following years of dominance in domestic darts’ biggest club competition.

ZRP Buchwa had overcome ZRP Strikers in the semi-finals, while Flying Eagles’ berth in the final came after a 19-15 win over the A team in the last 4.

At the closing ceremony, National Darts Association of Zimbabwe President Meynard Moyo hailed the commitment shown by clubs expressing a deep desire to see the continued growth of the sport.

The champion of champions darts extravaganza is a season opener which gives top clubs an opportunity to compete at the beginning of the year.

The next major event will be the Easter Darts Tournament which will be held in Harare.