Football stakeholders gathered in Harare yesterday for the Zimbabwe Premier Soccer League (ZPSL) silver jubilee celebrations.

A journey of a thousand miles begins with a single step so goes the popular Chinese saying.

Very few people could have thought the ZPSL, which is a brainchild of the likes of Morrison Sifelani and Rodger Muhlwa and many others, would live up to this day.

ZPSL CEO, Kenny Ndebele took delegates down memory lane, recalling the successes and challenges encountered since its formation.

He noted that the ZPSL has had only Dynamos, Highlanders and Caps United maintaining their positions in the league since its formation while Hwange, Chapungu and Black Rhinos, who were there in the inaugural league in 1993 have gone on sabbatical leave in some years.

PSL Emergency Committee Chairperson, Kenny Mubaiwa said the silver jubilee celebrations come at a time plans are afoot to create a hall of fame in honor of the best 25 players.

Sponsors, Castle Lager’s representative, Patricia Murambinda said they have done a lot to improve football in Zimbabwe although they are now disturbed by sporadic outbreaks of violence in stadiums.

Veteran sport administrator and the only Zimbabwean at the International Olympic Committee, Tommy Sithole, who was the guest speaker, implored the new crop of journalists to promote the development of sport through objective sport reporting.

He also challenged sport administrators to stick to good sport governance since sport is a tool for human development and can be used to fight HIV and AIDS.

Sport and Recreation Commission (SRC) Chairperson, Edward Siwela, who was representing the Minister of Sport, Arts culture and Recreation, said a lot of ground work has been done especially during the incumbent sport minister’s term to broaden the base for tapping sport talent.

The celebrations also saw former ZPSL chairpersons being honoured for taking Zimbabwean football to dizzy heights.

Football administrators; Morrison Sifelani, Wellington Nyatanga, Rodger Muhlwa, Tendai Madzorera, Tapiwa Matangaidze, Rafiq Khan, Bernard Mariot Luseko, Twine Phiri and Angel Rugede were some of the past ZPSL chairpersons honored.