tatenda-taibu-zimbabwe-cricket.jpgA 14-man national cricket squad that will lock horns with Bangladesh in the only test match set to begin at Harare Sports Club on Thursday has been announced.

All is set for Zimbabwe’s return to test cricket, with the naming of a 14 man squad by Zimbabwe cricket’s chairman of selectors Alistair Campbell.

Brendan Taylor is set to captain the team that includes the likes of Regis Chakabva, Elton Chigumbura, Hamilton Masakadza, Tinotenda Mawoyo, Vusimuzi Sibanda, Tatenda Taibu and Craig Ervine.

Having previously relied on the spinners, Zimbabwe’s selection panel has included 5 seamers, namely all rounder Elton Chigumbura, Kyle Jarvis, Keegan Meth, Christopher Mpofu and Brian Vittori.

Zimbabwe’s most experienced test player Raymond Price will lead a spin attack that also includes Prosper Utseya.

After announcing a 14-men squad, Zimbabwe cricket convener of selectors Alistair Campbell said it was now up to the players to perform.

Zimbabwe cricket team head coach, Allan Butcher concurred with Campbell and expressed satisfaction with work done in the run up to the Bangladesh encounter.

After withdrawing from the test arena in 2006, the Zimbabwe Cricket team will be looking to mark their return to test cricket by registering a victory over Bangladesh.

The test between Zimbabwe and Bangladesh is set to begin at Harare Sports Club this Thursday.

The one-off test will be followed with 5-one day encounters.