The Zimbabwe delegation to the first ordinary session of the African Union (AU) specialised technical committee (STC) on transport, trans-continental and inter-regional infrastructure, energy and tourism in Lome, Togo has been unanimously elected to the position of the vice chair of the Bureau of the AU-STC.

The delegation is led by the Deputy Minister of Tourism and Hospitality Industry Cde Anastancia Ndlovu.

The AU-STC met yesterday in Lome and elected the Bureau on the basis of rule number 16 of the rules of procedure under the AU Commission on infrastructure and energy.

The Bureau is made up of the chairperson, three vice chairpersons and a rapporteur.

Zimbabwe was elected as a second vice chair, representing the tourism sector and the Southern African region in the AU-STC for the next 2 years.

Other members of the Bureau are Togo as chairperson, representing the transport sector and the West African region, Mauritania as the first vice chair representing the energy sector and the Northern African region.

The Bureau is the executive organ of ministers responsible for infrastructure, energy, transport and tourism sectors tasked with providing policy and over-sight leadership roles to the work programmes of the AU Commission on infrastructure and energy and the STC of experts.