The Zimbabwe senior men’s national soccer team, the Warriors, head coach Sunday Chidzambwa today released names of players that will represent the country at the 2019 Africa Cup of Nations (AFCON) to be held in Egypt.

Hours after holding Nigeria to a goalless draw in a friendly international played in Asaba Nigeria on Saturday (yesterday) evening, Chidzambwa released the names of players that will be travelling to Egypt to take part in the AFCON finals which get underway on 21 June.

There were no major surprises to the AFCON squad which was released by Chidzambwa with the majority of players named having been likely candidates.

Edmore Sibanda, George Chigigova and Elvis Chipezeze are the goalkeepers that will be travelling to Egypt with Jimmy Dzingayi, Alec Mudimu, Teenage Hadebe, Divine Lunga, Ronald Pfumbidzai and Tendayi Darikwa making up the Warriors defenders that will have the task of stopping opponents.

Danny Phiri, Marshall Munetsi, Marvelous Nakamba, Tafadzwa Kutinyu, Ovidy Karuru, Khama Billiat, Kudakwashe Mahachi, Talent Chawapiwa and Thabani Kamusoko make up Zimbabwe’s midfield.

Up front, Chidzambwa opted for Knowledge Musona, Evans Rusike, Tinotenda Kadewere, Knox Mutizwa and Nyasha Mushekwi.

Following Saturday evening’s friendly, the Warriors are now set to shift base to Egypt where they will open their campaign with a clash against the hosts on 21 June.