Countries targeted under a new US travel ban passed by President Donald Trump have attacked the move, along with the United Nations.

On Tuesday, President Trump signed a new executive order placing a 90-day ban on people from six mainly Muslim nations.

The order was presented as a means to strengthen US national security against terror threats.

Today, two of the countries, Sudan and Somalia, said the move was unjustified.

The directive, which includes a 120-day ban on all refugees, takes effect on 16 March.

It follows a previous order, which was blocked by a federal court, which sparked confusion at airports and mass protests.