netball in zim.jpgSix teams have been promoted into the Netball Super League following the Division oOe playoffs held at Mbare Netball Complex over the weekend.


The six teams that were promoted into the netball top flight league after the playoffs comprise Glow Petroleum, which finished in pole position, followed by Beta Holdings, Mutare Poly, Hwange, Chocolate Queens and Chinhoyi University.

The Division One playoffs which saw 16 teams participating had a wide geographical representation as all of the country’s provinces were represented.

Zimbabwe Netball Association President, Leticia Chipandu hailed this development as a sign that the game is making great strides countrywide.

“I’m really impressed with the turn out.

“It shows that netball is growing in every corner of the country and it’s very encouraging,” Chipandu said.

The six teams that were promoted into the Netball Super League will replace Chaminuka, Jazeera, Rainbow Towers, Harvest Queens and Harare Districts who lost their super league status and were relegated to the Division One league.

Meanwhile, the 2012 Netball Super League season is expected to commence in March and will be preceded by a pre-season tournament in the coming weeks.