German/Turkish triathlete Jonas Schomburg competing under the International Triathlone Union (ITU) banner clinched the 2017 BonAqua Troutbeck ATU Africa cup.

The points scoring race was being held at the Troutbeck Resort in Nyanga.

The 10th edition of the Troutbeck ATU Africa cup attracted very few athletes in the elite race dominated by foreigners.

With hot weather temperatures descending on Nyanga the race proved tough for most of the athletes.

German/Turkish triathlete Schomburg was seconded by Namibian triathlete Jean-Paul Burger being runner up while German Linus Stimmel, finish third in the elite men’s race.

Japanese Aoi Kuramoto, was the 2017 elite women’s winner Africa cup, South Africa’s Cindy Schwulst runner up and another Japanese Chika Sato third.

Although there were no Zimbabwean elite athletes competing for the second year, the event was used as the national championship for local athletes.

Another highlight of the Troutbeck event was the mile-open water swim, whose inaugural event was held in 2012-the course times were set in the 1500m and 750m distances by Zimbabwe’s golden girl Kirsty Coventry, the late Nicholas Burnett, Kerryn Grenfell and Russel Gaynore of South Africa.

The event also saw the introduction of the Aquathlone which was introduced this season targeting schools which incorporated a run-swim-run as a one continuous event for teams and individuals.

A team event sponsored by Schweppes Holdings a corporate team relay challenge expected to grow not only at Troutbeck but also at local events.

The ATU triathlone African cup is one of 10 African cup events on the African triathlon cup managed by the continental body-the African Triathlon Union and part of the International Triathlone Union points ranking event system.