Khaled Babbou of Tunisia has been elected President of Rugby Africa during the 13th General Assembly of Rugby Africa in Marrakech, Morocco held yesterday.

Zimbabwe’s Aaron Jani was elected in the executive committee at the assembly.

Outgoing President, Abdelaziz Bougja, was elected Honorary President unanimously.

The new President of Rugby Africa, Khaled Babbou congratulated Bougja and his team for the fantastic work done, before closing the General Assembly with the slogan: “In Africa, We Remain United, Efficient, All Together!”

The newly elected Vice President Owor hailed the election promises and the support they have from the member states.

 “I m very glad that the elections went on well and that most of the countries accepted our nominations and gave us the mandate to lead Rugby Africa for the next four years. We think with our strategy we can work together with all the different members of Rugby Africa and we can accelerate the growth of the Game on the continent,” he commented.

The officers of the Executive Board are:

President: Khaled Babbou (Tunisia)

Vice President: Andrew Owor (Uganda)

Treasurer: Tano Elvis (Ivory Coast)

Secretary General: Jurie Roux (South Africa)

Seven officers elected to the Executive Committee:

Rolande Boro (Burkina Faso) with 26 votes

Aaron Jani (Zimbabwe) with 25 votes

Clement Sinkamba (Zambia) with 23 votes

Nasser Bougja (Morocco) with 22 votes

Herman M’Bonyo (DRC) with 21 votes

Paulina Lanco (Burundi) with 19 votes

Guedel N’Diaye (Senegal) with 18 votes