It was weekend of thrills and spills at Donnybrook as Rowan Whyte in his Subaru WRX STI won the two hour Enduro race following 90 laps around the track.

The main race the Enduroe which lasted over two hours non-stop saw more than 39 vehicles and 16 bikes participating in what is the most gruelling and exciting race on the main circuit.

Competition was fierce during the opening laps as cars jostled for positions.

2016 national championship winner Fani Va Der Linde in his Super 7 led the race until he was forced off due to a technical problem as did Hamish Perry in his BMW who was in second position.

Whyte, who was lying in third took advantage of the situation to win ahead of Denzil Bhana of Bulawayo and Mike Laing in third in his Honda.

Whyte’s love for main circuit racing began in 2012 driving a Toyota MR2 and has been racing his dearly beloved Subaru since 2014.

Winner of three champion of champion titles as well as numerous championships in various classes Richard Robinson said the sport is growing.

Young Austin Chitepo racing in his Toyota Corolla RXI managed to finish the race earning valuable championship points but after going through three set of brake pads.

Other notable contestants who managed to finish the raceĀ  earning valuable championship points included Craig Green who raced in Toyota RXI, Brett Stopforth in his MR2, Calvin Radmeyer of Bulawayo in his Polo, Darren Pradji in his Datsun and Alain De Jaegere in MR2.

The next race is the festival of speed on August 6 at the Donnybrook where all the speed junkies and dragsters are expected converge.