South African Vice President, Cde Cyril Ramaphosa has been elected President of the ruling ANC party in a tightly contested poll at the party’s 54th national elective congress at the Expo Centre in Johannesburg.

Cde Ramaphosa polled 2440 votes compared to his main rival, Dr Nkosazana Dlamini Zuma’s 2261 votes in a secret ballot.

Trade unionist, businessman cum politician, Cde Ramaphosa will now succeed Cde Jacob Zuma as the ANC’s Presidential candidate for general elections scheduled for 2019.

ANC has ruled South Africa since the end of Apartheid in 1994 and has recorded landslide victories in subsequent national elections.

At the ongoing ruling party congress, a total of 4 776 delegates voted.

In other key positions of the ruling party, Cde David Mabuza was elected Deputy President, Cde Gwede Mantashe National Chairperson, Cde Ace Makgashule Secretary General, Cde Jessie Duarte Deputy Secretary General and Cde Paul Mashatile Treasurer General.