The Zanu PF Special Central Committee has recalled the party’s First Secretary and President, Cde President Robert Mugabe and replaced him with Cde Emmerson Mnangagwa on an interim basis until ratification at the party’s Extra-Ordinary Congress next month.

The Central Committee first nullified last week’s purported expulsion of Cde Mnangagwa before appointing him interim First Secretary and President of the revolutionary party.

Announcing the outcome of the session, Zanu PF Secretary for Information and Publicity, Cde Simon Khaya Moyo said President Mugabe was asked to resign by mid-day tomorrow, failure of which they will impeach him in parliament.

The so called G40 cabal led by the First Lady, Dr Grace Mugabe and also comprising of Vice President Phelekezela Mphoko, Dr Ignatius Chombo, Professor Jonathan Moyo, Saviour Kasukuwere, Kudzai Chipanga, Eunice Sandi Moyo, Makhosini Hlongwane, Anastancia Ndlovu, Innocent Hamandishe, Letina Udenge, Samuel Undenge, Dr Walter Mzembi, Mandi Chimene and Patrick Zhuwawo were all expelled.

Dr Obert Mpofu, who chaired the session, said it is a sad chapter for President Mugabe’s illustrious career as the G40 cabal capitalised on his incapacitation to usurp his powers and started criminal activities under the protection of the First Lady.

The session also castigated the First Lady for also usurping executive powers which did not belong to her as the Secretary for Women’s Affairs in the party.

The party also discarded the ‘one centre of power’ notion, which was popular with President Mugabe.