President Emmerson Mnangagwa has sworn in a three member tribunal to institute investigations and determine suspended Prosecutor General Advocate Ray Goba’s suitability to continue holding the esteemed office following allegations of failure to prosecute graft cases and gross misconduct.

The tribunal is expected to deliver its findings within four months, while an Acting Prosecutor General is expected to be announced by Friday.

Retired High Court judge Justice November Tafuma Mtshiya will chair the tribunal and was the first to be sworn in by President Mnangagwa at State House this morning, in the presence of the Attorney General Advocate Prince Machaya.

The other two members of the tribunal appointed to investigate and assess Advocate Goba’s case are Advocate Takawira Nzombe, a former Zimbabwe Republic Police legal officer and reputable lawyer Ms Wendy Chingeya who was selected from the list brought forward by the Law Society of Zimbabwe.

The two also took the oath of office in front of President Mnangagwa.

Secretary for Justice, Legal and Parliamentary Affairs Mrs Virginia Mabhiza who will administer the Secretariat responsible for the tribunal said the suspension of Prosecutor General Goba followed recommendations made by the Judicial Service Commission.

She said the tribunal has a wide mandate and they are expected to conclude the investigations within four months from the date of commencement.

Members of the Secretariat will be drawn from the Ministry of Justice, Legal and Parliamentary Affairs and will be headed by a director from the ministry said Ms Mabhiza.

Advocate Goba was suspended on allegations of failing to prosecute high profile corruption cases, travelling outside the country without cabinet approval, using abusive language and general abuse of office among other acts of misconduct.

Advocate Goba was sworn in as the country’s substantive head of prosecutions in 2017 replacing former Prosecutor General Mr Johannes Tomana, who was fired for incompetence and misconduct after a disciplinary tribunal chaired by Retired High Court judge Justice Moses Chinhengo found him guilty of a host of charges.

In appointing the tribunal, President Mnangagwa has acted in terms of section 187 (3) of the Constitution which stipulates that the President must establish a tribunal upon receiving recommendations from the JSC.

In terms of section 187 (4), the tribunal must consist of at least three members, with the chairperson having served as a judge of the Supreme or High Court.