Members of the Zanu PF politburo have congratulated the First Secretary of the party, President Emmerson Mnangagwa for his resounding victory in the presidential race pitting 22 other presidential hopefuls. 

The politburo members led by the party’s National Chairman Cde Oppah Muchinguri Kashiri paid a courtesy call on newly elected President Cde Emmerson Mnangagwa at his Munhumutapa Offices this Friday afternoon.

Cde Muchinguri-Kashiri said the team is happy to serve under the able leadership of President ED and they are going to rally behind him and support his vision of transforming the country to become a middle income economy by 2030.  

“We have walked this far through the campaigns which were very peaceful. We came to appreciate the leadership of our President who encouraged us to have peaceful campaigns and to unite our people. You know what happens after primary elections. Where there is peace development will take place. His manifesto also worked wonders, and his vision.

“We are so excited so much jubilation Zimbabwe has now really demonstrated that we are a mature democracy. We are all geared up to help him implement the aspirations of our people. We are more than happy to serve under him. The President said he is ready to work and he shared with us his programmes, we need to be forward looking, to be futuristic,” said Cde Muchinguri-Kashiri.

Another Zanu PF politburo member and National Spokesperson Ambassador Simon Khaya Moyo said Cde Mnangagwa told the politburo members that the country must now focus on development and working together in harmony.

“We came to say congratulations Makorokoto, Amhlophe to President Mnangagwa. He is not just President of Zanu PF and that declaration means he is now President of the country so it was imperative that we came to offer him our congratulatory message. The President said it was team work and he encouraged us to now look at the challenges facing the country as a team, not just Zanu PF, but  united and he said let us continue with the spirit of peace,” Ambassador Khaya Moyo said.

President Mnangagwa was duly declared President of the Republic of Zimbabwe after receiving 2 460 463 votes while leader of the MDC Alliance Nelson Chamisa got 2 147 436.

The votes garnered by President Mnangagwa are more than half the number of votes cast in the presidential election.