The government has announced a new 10-member board for the Environmental Management Agency (EMA), which is expected to steer the agency for the next five years in ensuring the sustainable utilisation of natural resources.

The new board was announced today (Monday) in Harare by the Environment, Tourism and Hospitality Industry Minister, Cde Prisca Mupfumira, with Ambassador Florence Chideya as chairperson.

Cde Mupfumira said the latest global environmental assessment report outlook indicates that the planet is increasingly getting polluted and rapidly warming, leading to climate change.

“We are losing biodiversity, ecosystem due to land degradation and other human activities,” said Cde Mupfumira.

Ambassador Chideya implored fellow board members to prioritise environmental issues during their tenure.

“We are going to commit ourselves to EMA’s mandate as we take our oath of office as board members,” said Ambassador Chideya.

The rest of the board members include Christopher Chitindi, Abraham Matiza, Muzi Irvine Kunene, Juliet Chiketa, Leon Muwoni, Molline Mayahle, Nickel Mushangwe, Sheila Sidabwe and Tinofara Hove.

The appointment of the new EMA board was done in accordance with Section 11 and 12 of the Environmental Management Act Chapter 20:02.