dr made 21.10.10.jpgGovernment has announced a new 11 member Agriculture Research Council (ARC) Board which will spearhead agriculture research in the country.

The ARC Board will be headed by Dr Evelyn Garwe, who is also the Deputy Chief Executive of the Zimbabwe Council for Higher Education.

Announcing the Board in Harare, Agriculture, Mechanisation and Irrigation Development Minister, Dr Joseph Made said members of the board have different areas of specialisation and technical expertise which should be utilised to benefit agriculture.

The board is also expected to examine the livestock sector as this has been overlooked at the expense of crop development as well as assess the impact of climate change on the sector.

Dr Made said the livestock sector has big contribution to the economy.

New Chairperson, Dr Evelyn Garwe expressed confidence that the board will fulfil the enormous responsibility of improving agricultural research in the country.

Dr Garwe will be deputised by Dr John Dube of Lupane State University and Mr Nicholas Ncube from the National University of Science and Technology (NUST).

Other members of the board include Dr Albert Chiteka, Mr Maxmillian Nyathi, Professor Norbert Ngongoni, Dr Musaringana Tivapasi, Professor Francis Mugabe and Dr Hilary Madzikanda. 

Two members of the Ministry of Agriculture, Mechanisation and Irrigation Development; Mr Moffat Nyamangara and Mr William Shereni are also part of the board.