The ruling Zanu PF party says its internal democratic processes will now be run by a nine member National Elections Commission (NEC) which takes over from the National Elections Directorate.

Party National Political Commission Retired Lieutenant-General Engelbert Rugeje and chairperson of the commission said presently the commission is seized with preparatory work for the forthcoming by- election slated for 24 November in Mutoko North constituency.

The Mutoko North seat became vacant upon the elevation of Cde Marble Chinomona to Senate President.

Last year the primaries in the ruling party witnessed a number of logistical challenges with some areas registering complaints from some aggrieved candidates.

However, according to Cde Rugeje, the newly formed commission has been adequately trained for the tedious task of elections.

Names of the NEC members

 Name                                                                                        Province Deployed

  1. Lieutenant General (Retired) Dr Engelbert Rugeje          Chairman
  2. Professor Ngwabi Bhebhe                                                       Mashonaland West
  3. Cde Joshua Mzamba                                                                Mashonaland West
  4. Cde Irene Mutumbwa                                                              Harare
  5. Professor Simbi Mubako                                                         Harare
  6. Cde Cecilia Paradza                                                                  Mashonaland Central
  7. Professor Charity Manyeruke                                                 Mashonaland Central
  8. Cde Ambassador Zenzo Nsimbi                                             Manicaland
  9. Cde Tinaye Chigudu                                                                 Manicaland