The Minister of Youth, Sport, Arts and Recreation Cde Kazembe Kazembe has announced the board of trustees for the National Gallery of Zimbabwe.

There was no shake up of the previous board and those to take the next five year appointment are Dr Solomon Guramatunhu as board chairperson, Bulawayo-based Busani Bafana, Mrs Patricia Broderick Wood, Mutare-based businessman Mr Job Torindoh and Mr David Scott.

In his acceptance speech, Mr Scott who was standing in for Dr Guramatunhu promised to carry out the duties as expected of them.

“We are happy for the appointment and we promise to serve as expected of us,” he said.

The announced list conforms to the requirements of the National Gallery of Zimbabwe Act of 1985 and the corporate governance framework on state enterprises and parastatals.  

The board of trustees assumed office from the 1st of May.