Motorsports enthusiasts and fans enjoyed another fun-filled and  action-packed racing at Donnybrook Raceway on Sunday as over 40 vehicles participated in the first main circuit championship race of the year which had 13 events lined up.

The motorsports season opened with the main circuit racing event that had lots of newcomers and entries especially in the megelli-motorcyles by juniors.

Motorsport has been growing and a number of young and exciting new entrants to the sport, especially in the bikes where youngsters like Tristan Grainger, Ricky White and Zoe Bosch stepped up from motocross to join the big boys riding the megelli motorcycles this year.

Savannah Woodward, the 17 year-old female superbike sensation seems to have inspired a crop of young boys who also started competing in the off road enduros and motocross to join circuit racing.

The superbike class was won by veteran Shaun Whyte, Moto-X Star Ashley Thixton second and Matthew Schultz third.

Exciting newcomer Larry Magede won the saloon class 4 in the Toyota Yaris development car, saloon class three went to Craig Green in his Corrolla, class two by Denzil Bhana. 

The superbike and megelli handicap over 6 laps was won by Matthew Schultz, with Uli Meiners second and veteran Shaun Whyte in third.

The sports car class 1 over 6 laps was won Farnie Vander Linde his black Rotary Turbo Super 7 – the fastest on the circuit, class two saw Gary Kirk dominate in his Super 7, while class three by Craig Goby in his Sports 2000.

The unlimited class one saw some close racing between Jim and Hamish Perry in a battle of the BMWs but it was Jim Perry in his BMW who had the fastest lap of 1 minute 16 seconds while Dean Norman was a second behind him.

The highlight of the main circuit racing was the saloon and sports grandprix won by Dean Norman, Farnie Van Der Linde in second and Mike Exton third.

The handicap race was won by Dean Norman again with Brett Stopforth second in his Mr2 and Mike Exton third.