lovemore moyo.jpgMr Lovemore Moyo of the MDC-T has won the post of Speaker of the House of Assembly after receiving 105 votes, beating his rival Cde Simon Khaya Moyo of Zanu-PF who clinched 93 votes.

There were 9 spoiled papers, 6 deceased legislators, while 3 members of the august house were fired by their party, MDC.

The battle for the Speaker’s post pitted the two national chairpersons of Zanu PF (Cde Simon Khaya Moyo) and the MDC-T (Mr Lovemore Moyo) respectively.

Earlier on before the voting process, business almost ground to a halt when the MDC-T wanted to field Zanu-PF Politburo member and Tsholotsho North House of Assembly Member, Professor Jonathan Moyo, nearly turning the battle into a Moyo vs Moyo vs Moyo affair.


Professor Moyo however refused the offer, while Clerk of Parliament, Mr Austin Zvoma had to intervene to restore order before voting began.


Vice President John Landa Nkomo and Zanu-PF Secretary for Women Affairs Oppah Muchinguri both took the Oath of Parliament as ex-officio members of the august house in order to be able to cast their votes.


After the nominations, the parties were given an opportunity to sell their candidates and Mr Biti tried in vain to use the platform to air his party’s misgivings about the manner in which the election was being conducted.

Mr Zvoma advised him to seek redress in the courts. The MPs then voted and the Clerk declared Mr Lovemore Moyo the winner.

In his short acceptance speech, Mr Lovemore Moyo said: “Fellow Honourable Members, I would like to thank you for this honour that has been bestowed on me.

“I attribute this victory to the progressive MPs across the political divide.”

Mr Zvoma said four legislators who were eligible to vote had not turned up.

“There were 199 members who voted out of 203 that were eligible to vote, four were not present and everyone present voted,” he said.

The Speaker’s post fell vacant following the nullification by the Supreme Court of the election of Mr. Lovemore Moyo on 25 August  2008 over voting irregularities which saw some MDC-T members openly displaying their votes to other legislators instead of voting secretly as required by law.