12:03 – After the swearing in, the President, Vice Presidents and the sworn in officials go for a photo shoot.

11:41 – It is now time for deputy minister to be sworn in.

11:35 – President Mnangagwa now calls upon the two ministers of state in VPs offices, Hon. Evelyne Ndlovu and Hon. Davis Marapira to take oath of office.

11:28 – Hon. Judith Ncube (Bulawayo), Hon. Mary Mliswa (Mashonaland West), Hon. Apollonia Munzverengi (Mashonaland East), Hon. Monica Mavhunga (Mashonaland Central), Hon. Ellen Gwaradzimba (Manicaland), Hon. Larry Mavhima (Midlands), Hon. Ezra Chadzamira (Masvingo), Hon. Abednico Ncube (Matabeleland South) and Matabeleland North’s Hon. Richard Moyo sign the paperwork confirming their appointment before the President.

11:21 – Professor Paul Mavima is the last cabinet minister to sign, and President Mnangagwa now reads out the law on the appointment and swearing in of provincial ministers, before asking them to take an oath.

11:14 – Ministers Joel Biggie Matiza, Kazembe Kazembe, Monica Mutsvanga, Winstone Chitando also sign in that order.

11:09 – And then, Hon. Kirsty Coventry signs, followed by Hon. Joel Biggie Matiza.

Minister Kirsty Coventry after swearing in

11:07 – Then comes Dr Obediah Moyo, the Minister of Health and Child Care and then Cde Sekesai Nzenza.

11:06 – Hon. Mangaliso Ndlovu, the new Industry and Commerce Minister, signs before the President.

11:03 – Upcomes the Agriculture Minister Air Chief Marshal Perrance Shiri, followed by Cde Sithembiso Nyoni.

11:01 – Cde Prisca Mupfumira has also done it.

10:59 – Foreign Affairs and International Trade Minister, Retired Lt. Gen Sibusiso Moyo is next.

10:58 – Cde Cain Mathema, the new Home Affairs Minister, signs.

10:56 – Now comes Cde Joram Gumbo, who has been moved from the Transport portfolio to Energy, to sign before the President.

10:55- The new Defence Minister, Cde Oppah Muchinguri Kashiri is second to sign, followed by Cde July Moyo.

10:52 – The new Finance Minister, Professor Mthuli Ncube is the first to sign papers before the President and his two Vice Presidents.

10:50 – President Mnangagwa reads out the law that empowers him to appoint a cabinet and then asks the ministers to say out their oath of office as a group.

10:44 – After a long wait, the proceedings begin with the singing of the National Anthem. Remember, you can watch our live coverage of the cabinet swearing in ceremony on ZBC TV now.

09:00 – Speaking to the ZBC on the sidelines of the swearing in ceremony, Foreign Affairs and International Trade Minister designate, Retired Lieutenant General Dr Sibusiso Moyo says the re-engagement agenda has been successful as a number of countries are warming up to Zimbabwe.

“In terms of participation in the international order, western nations were the first to warm up to Zimbabwe with countries such as Germany, France and the UK sending their representatives to Zimbabwe for further engagements. Zimbabwe has been informing all nations that the country is open for business, hence the need to be treated fairly on the global village.”

08:48 – President Emmerson Mnangagwa has arrived at State House and the new ministers and deputies will be sworn-in shortly.

08:32 – The Minister designates take their positions, others greet each others and relatives take their seats at the swearing in ceremony.

08:00 – Deputy ministers and ministers of state and ministers of state in the vice presidents’ office are also to be sworn in.

07:35 – Accompanied by by their relatives and friends, the ministers have started arriving at State House.

Kirsty Coventyr arrives at State House for swearing in as Sport Minister


  1. Finance and Economic Development – Hon. Professor Mthuli Ncube
  2. Defence and War Veterans – Hon. Oppah Muchinguri Kashiri
  3. Local Government, Public Works and National Housing – Hon. July Moyo
  4. Foreign Affairs and International Trade- Hon. Sibusiso B. Moyo
  5. Public Service, Labour and Social Welfare – Hon. Sekesai Nzenza
  6. Industry and Commerce – Hon. Mangaliso Ndlovu
  7. Home Affairs and Cultural Heritage- Hon. Cain Mathema
  8. Higher and Tertiary Education, Science and Technology Development – Hon. Professor Amon Murwira
  9. Primary and Secondary Education – Hon. Professor Paul Mavima
  10. Lands, Agriculture, Water, Culture and Rural Resettlement – Hon. Air Chief Marshal Perrance Shiri
  11. Mines and Mining Development – Hon. Winston Chitando
  12. Energy and Power Development – Hon. Joram Gumbo
  13. Transport and Infrastructural Development – Hon. Joel Biggie Matiza
  14. Information, Publicity and Broadcasting Services- Hon. Monica Mutsvangwa
  15. ICT and Courier Services- Hon. Kazembe Kazembe
  16. Environment, Tourism and Hospitality Industry – Hon. Prisca Mupfumira
  17. Youth, Sport, Arts and Recreation – Hon. Kirsty Coventry
  18. Health and Child Care- Hon. Dr Obediah Moyo
  19. Justice, Legal and Parliamentary Affairs – Hon. Ziyambi Ziyambi
  20. Women Affairs, Community, Small and Enterprises Development – Hon. Sithembiso Nyoni


Deputy Ministers:

  1. Defence and War Veterans – Hon. Victor Matemadanda
  2. Local Government, Public Works and National Housing – Hon. Jennifer Mhlanga
  3. Public Service , Labour and Social Welfare – Hon. Lovemore Matuke
  4. Industry and Commerce – Hon. Rajeshakumart Modi
  5. Home Affairs and Cultural Heritage – Hon. Michael Madiro
  6. Primary and Secondary Education – Hon. Edgar Moyo
  7. Lands, Agriculture , Water, Culture and Rural Resettlement Hon. Douglass Karoro and Hon. Vangelis Haritatos
  8. Mines and Mining Development – Hon. Polite Kambamura
  9. Energy and Power Development – Hon. Magna Mudyiwa
  10. Transport and Infrastructural Development – Hon. Fortune Chasi
  11. Information, Publicity and Broadcasting Services – Hon. Energy Mutodi
  12. ICT and Courier Services – Hon. Jerifan Muswere
  13. Sport, Arts and Recreation – Hon. Yeukai Simbanegavi


Ministers of state in Vice President’s Office:

  1. Hon. Vice President Rtd general C.G.D.N Chiwenga’s office –Hon. Evelyn Ndlovu
  2. Hon. Vice President K.C.D Mohadi’s office – Hon. Davis Marapira


Ministers of State for Provinces:

  1. Harare……
  2. Bulawayo – Hon. Judith Ncube
  3. Mashonaland West – Hon. Mary Mliswa
  4. Mashonaland East – Hon. Apollonia Munzverengi
  5. Mashonaland Central – Hon. Monica Mavhunga
  6. Manicaland –Hon. Ellen Gwaradzimba
  7. Midlands – Hon. Larry Mavhima
  8. Masvingo – Hon. Ezra Chadzamira
  9. Matabeleland South – Hon. Abednico Ncube
  10. Matabeleland North – Hon. Richard Moyo

07:10 – Appointed on Friday, the cabinet has been branded ED’s Dream Team by various sectors of the media and new faces in the cabinet are Kirsty Coventry, Professor Mthuli Ncube, Hon. Sekesai Nzenza, Hon. Mangaliso Ndlovu and Hon. Joel Biggie Matiza.

07:00 – The job starts today as the new ministers will be sworn in shortly at State House, Harare.