The governing Bharatiya Janata Party (BJP) under the leadership of Narendra Modi has swept back in to power in a landslide victory.

Counting is still underway but the leads show that the BJP is projected to get about 300 of the 543 seats in Parliament, a much bigger victory than in 2014.

Meanwhile, other heads of states including US president Donald Trump have already congratulated Prime Minister Modi for the victory.

The election started on the 11th of April stretching to the 23rd of May with a total of 8 000 contestants from 2 000 political parties all vying for seats in the 543 seater Parliament.

From the onset, results showed that the governing BJP was leading.

Supporters and BJP contestants started celebrating from as early as 10 in the morning.

Prime Minister Modi’s government is the first to return with a full majority since 1971.

After the announcement of some of the votes, the Mr Modi visited the BJP headquarters in Delhi to address and thank the BJP staff for their dedication to the party.

At the last election in 2014, BJP won 282 seats pushing out the Congress Party, which had ruled India for 54 of its 67 years since independence and now the people of India have given the party 5 more years to rule the vast nation.