The ICC Cricket World Cup qualifiers will be televised to fans for the first time ever, across five continents in 200 territories by Star Sports, ICC’s global media rights partner and other official broadcasters, in what is another landmark in showcasing cricket to more people across the world.

Building on the four live-streamed match coverage previously seen at the ICC Cricket World Cup qualifier in 2014, the ICC continues to build its long-term partnerships with various broadcast partners to widen the reach of the ICC Cricket World Cup qualifier.

Fans can also watch online or via their mobile devices with the majority of broadcast partners simulcasting live ICC event coverage.

Aarti Dabas, head of media rights, broadcast and digital, said; “For the first time ever we are broadcasting 10 matches of the ICC Cricket World Cup qualifier, this a huge step forward in our ambition to getting cricket to more fans across the world”.

“With two places in the ICC Cricket World Cup 2019 at stake, the ICC in partnership with its official broadcast and digital partners and on its own digital platforms are providing significant coverage of the event in Zimbabwe. In a number of firsts for coverage across the tournament, the ICC will provide on-demand clips and fans will have access to follow the event on any platform on broadcast and digital,” he said.

The broadcast partners covering the games include Star Sports (India and the Indian sub-continent, including Nepal), local broadcaster Supersport (South Africa and sub-Saharan Africa), Sky Sports (United Kingdom and Republic of Ireland), OSN (Middle East and North Africa), Fox Sports (Australia), Willow TV (USA), Sky TV (New Zealand), Ten Sports (Pakistan), ESPN (Caribbean), Gazi TV (Bangladesh), SLRC (Sri Lanka) and Star Cricket (Hong Kong).

Digicel will broadcast to fans in Papua New Guinea and Oceania, confirming a partnership that will run until the end of the ICC Cricket World Cup 2019.

It is likely that more broadcasters will be added to this list in due course.

Digital clips partners include BBC (UK and Republic of Ireland), ESPN cricinfo (UK, Republic of Ireland and Australia), Hotstar (India), Cricbuzz (US and Canada), Cricingif (Pakistan), powered by Dialog (Sri Lanka), Cricket Gateway (SE Asia and Australia), OSN (Middle East and North Africa) and Channel 2 Group (sub-Saharan Africa).

Commentary of the 19 camera coverage will come from a stellar seven person commentary panel – Ian Bishop, Mpumelelo Mbangwa, Lisa Sthalekar, Deep Dasgupta, Fazeer Mohammed, Mark Butcher and Dirk Nannes.

To provide more to viewers and bring them closer to the action, there will be a 15-minute pre-game build-up, which will set the scene for the match and will include the toss and the pitch report.

A 10-minute post-game wrap-up will include the player of the match presentation and a chat with the two captains.

Away from the live broadcasting, the ICC continues its commitment to improving and upgrading digital coverage of cricket to the world.

For the first time ever in an ICC Cricket World Cup qualifier, ICC will make available on-demand clips of match action, highlights and event content available to global fans via a portfolio of global clip rights licensees.

A total of 10 digital clip partners covering over 110 countries will provide up to six minutes per hour of near-live match content – as well as match previews, media conferences, match highlights and event features – available to watch on designated licensee websites, smartphone apps and other digital properties with a focus on mobile.  


  • Each side will play the other teams in their group once with the top three from the groups progressing to the Super Six stage.
  • The teams each play three Super Six matches against the sides they did not meet in the group stage.
  • All points won in the groups will be carried over to the Super Six stage apart from those gained against the bottom two from each group.
  • The finalists will both progress to the ICC Cricket World Cup 2019, whilst the Netherlands (ICC World Cricket League Championship winners) and the three highest finishing associate Members will earn ODI status for the next four years till 2022.

About the ICC

The ICC is the global governing body for cricket. Representing 104 members, the ICC governs and administrates the game and is responsible for the staging of major international tournaments including the ICC World Cup and Women’s World Cup, ICC Champions Trophy and the ICC Men’s and Women’s World T20.

The ICC presides over the ICC Code of Conduct which sets the professional standards of discipline for international cricket, playing conditions, bowling reviews and other ICC regulations. The laws of the game remain under the auspices of the MCC.

The ICC also appoints the umpires and referees who officiate at all sanctioned Test matches, One Day International and Twenty20 Internationals. Through the Anti-Corruption Unit it coordinates action against corruption and match fixing.

The ICC Development Department works with associate members to improve the quality of international cricket, build better cricket systems, get more people playing cricket and grow the game.