germany vs spain 2.jpgGermany and Spain square off in a World Cup semi-final showdown in Durban tonight with the Germans continuing with their quest for a 4th world title while Spain are bidding to win the world’s premier football tournament for the first time.

The Germany/Spain World Cup semi-final is a rematch of the 2008 European championship final, which Spain won by



Tonight’s semi-final showdown is however bound to be a lot tougher for the Spaniards as Germany is shifting into a higher gear with each game while Spain seems to be stuck in neutral gear.


Germany have been in rampant form and reached the semi-final stage by dismantling Argentina 4-0 in the quarter-finals after humiliating England 4-1 in the round of 16.


The Germans have thrilled soccer fans during the tournament with their combination of youth, speed, creativity, and clinical finishing. However, the 3 time world champions will be without 20-year-old midfielder Thomas Mueller, who is suspended.

Mueller has been a breath of fresh air in the German squad showing exceptional maturity and finishing skills and has scored 4 goals.


However, Germany has other players who can tilt the match in their favour, such as record chasing striker Miroslav Klose and his partner Lukas Podolski while Midfielder Mesut Oezil is a brilliant player who can turn the game around with one deft touch.


Captain Phillip Lahm has been a rock in defence while midfielder Bastian Schweinstager is one unsung hero.

In sharp contrast to Germany’s trail-blazing run, Spain has been winning narrowly. Vicente Del Bosque’s team has been forced to fight for dear life in a series of tight matches against Portugal and Paraguay managing narrow 1 nil victories.

The European champions have been depending heavily on David Villa as his striking partner Fernando Torres has been firing blanks.


The two teams have met 20 times in the past with Germany winning eight, losing six and drawing six.


Germany will be attempting to win the World Cup for the fourth time after reigning supreme in 1954, 1974 and 1990 while La Furia Roja will be gunning for their first ever World Cup crown.