The overall winner of this year’s Presidential Medal Shooting competition is Corporal Frederick Gobo of the Zimbabwe National Army’s Parachute Regiment.

At a colourful ceremony attended by guests from the uniformed forces and civilians, as well as the Minister of Defence, Cde Emmerson Mnangagwa and service chiefs, Corporal Gobo scooped a gold medal and walked away with the Independence Trophy and US$2 600.

The prizes were presented by the Head of State and Government and Commander-in-Chief of the Zimbabwe Defence Forces, President Robert Mugabe.

The second overall winner of the competition was Mike Masiya, also of the Parachute Regiment, followed by Major Noel Ncube from the same regiment.

In other categories, Corporal Locadia Chakwakuka of 2 Brigade clinched the gold medal and walked away with the Nehanda trophy, US$1 100 richer.

In the female officers’ category, Olivia Kachamedza of the Zimbabwe Prison Services was the winner, beating the ZRP perennial champion, Chief Superintendent Majongwe, who slid to 3rd position.

Another first for women was scored by a first timer, Catherine Mugabe of the Reserve Bank of Zimbabwe, who scooped the best civilian female award.

In the war veterans’ category, Chokoto took the gold to walk away with US$500 that was at stake, while Edwin Chando Talibal scooped the same amount in the civilians category.

Christopher Jairos of H-Metro was the winner of the gold in the civilian executives category.