Former legislator for Zvishavane constituency Cde Pearson Mbalekwa has won the Zanu PF Chiwundura primary election and will represent the party in the Chiwundura parliamentary by-election after he polled 1511 votes ahead of 20 other candidates who were in the election race that ended Monday evening.

Zanu PF deputy national political commissar Cde Omega Hungwe, who presided over the election, declared Cde Mbalekwa as the duly elected to represent Zanu PF in the Chiwundura parliamentary by-election set for the 15th of July.

The Chiwundura seat fell vacant following the death of Cde Kizito Chivamba who died after a short illness last month.

President Mugabe has since declared 15 July as the by-election date.