Castle Lager Premier Soccer League champions Caps United dumped five time African champions TP Mazembe of the DRC out of the CAF Champions League, to book themselves a place in the group stage with a nil-all draw in a second leg first round match played at the National Sports Stadium in Harare this afternoon.

Keeping the DRC outfit at bay all afternoon was all the Green Machine needed to qualify to the next stage on away goals rule after the first leg had finished 1-all in Lubumbashi last week.

While there was little to talk about in the second leg, Abbas Amidu’s 44 seconds goal away in DRC proved crucial for Caps United, who now await a draw in the last 16.

The two teams drew one-all in their first leg second round tie in Lubumbashi last weekend.

The goal scored in DR Congo ensured Makepekepe reach the group stages for the first time in the history of the competition, making them the second Zimbabwean team after Dynamos to qualify to this stage.

The result is a huge accomplishment for the Green Machine who have returned to the African Champions League after an 11-year absence.

They will now enter the group phase of the tournament which has been expanded from eight to 16 clubs.

Caps United coach Lloyd Chitembwe paid tribute to his players as ‘the greatest ever’ and attributed the success to the unity of purpose and self belief the team showed throughout the match.

Vice captain Hardlife Zvirekwi said Caps United players are excited and the team spirit is great adding that they are now aiming even higher.

Mazembe, who won the African Champions League in 2015, were left frustrated by the Zimbabwean underdogs in their search for a goal.

The visitors bemoaned the missed opportunities during the two matches which they did not utilise.

This is the second time that the five time African club champions TP Mazembe have been knocked out of the CAF Champions League first stage despite having more possession.

It means Mazembe now drop into the African Confederation Cup play-off round, where they will look to defend the title they won in 2016.