tendai savanhu ed.jpgAffirmative Action Group (AAG) founding member, Cde Tendai Savanhu as well as other members, have dismissed claims by Mr Themba Mliswa that he is the new president of the empowerment lobby group.

Mr Mliswa is reported to have claimed the presidency of the empowerment lobby group after an election held in Chinhoyi and has since named three other members of his executive and provincial chairpersons.

Cde Savanhu, who is also the AAG Interim Secretary General, however dismissed the claim, saying the founding fathers of the group are still in the process of restructuring the organisation.

Cde Savanhu added that AAG is a registered trademark and Mliswa is free to form his own organisation without using the empowerment group’s name.

Members named as part of Mliswa’s executive including Clifford Hlupeko, Charles Nyachowe,  Nhamo Tutisani and Chamu Chiwanza denied knowledge of being elected into any AAG executive in Chinhoyi.

The AAG was last year shaken by the resignation of its executive members following a vote of no confidence by the provinces amid reports that its leaders were not performing their mandate.