The newly established cabinet has been described by Zimbabweans as a mixture of old and new faces for continuity of programmes while some new blood has been pumped in to enhance professionalism and results.

Some of the new ministers who spoke to ZBC News said they are ready to run with their tasks and ensure the government meets set targets according to the President’s brief of turning around the country’s economic fortunes.

Newly appointed Minister of Lands, Agriculture and Rural Resettlement Air Marshal Perrance Shiri said he is more than ready to exchange his gun for the plough, another passion of his, after wearing his uniform for 44 years.

He said issues such as land tenure, productivity and occupations have to be solved once and for all and that command agriculture has to continue.

Major General Sibusiso Moyo is another brains from the military who has joined government as Minister of Foreign Affairs and International Trade.

He holds a PhD in International Relations from the University of Zimbabwe.

The new Minister of Mines and Mining Development Mr Winston Chitando promised to examine challenges in the sector and tackle them head on. He has vast experience in the mining sector.

The new Minister of Sport, Arts and Recreation Cde Kazembe Kazembe promised to revisit some sports which have been abandoned with a view to revamping the sector.

The new Minister of Justice, Legal and Parliamentary Affairs Cde Ziyambi Ziyambi said the fight against graft and corruption is high on his justice agenda.

The Minister of Higher Education, Science and Technology Development Professor Amon Murwira believes education should work for the country and his ministry will build on what has been achieved and reconstruct what has been broken.

The Minister of State for Mashonaland East Province Cde David Musabayana said he is out to push for efficiency in every aspect of his leadership including productivity and decision making in line with the thrust espoused by the President.

Some former ministers who were returned were Cdes Obert Mpofu who was first to be sworn in as well as Minister of Home Affairs and Culture, Cde Patrick Chinamasa – Finance and Economic Planning, Cde Simon Khaya Moyo – Energy and Power Develoment, Cde Oppah Muchinguri-Kashiri – Environment, Water and Climate, Cde Prisca Mupfumira – Tourism and Hospitality Industry, Professor Paul Mavima – Primary and Secondary Education who replaced Dr Lazarus Dokora, Cde Kembo Mohadi – new Minister of Defence, Security and War Veterans, Cde Simbarashe Mumbengegwi – Minister for Presidential Affairs and Monitoring of  Government Programmes, Dr Joram Gumbo – Transport and Infrastructural Development and some the provincial ministers of state, namely Advocate Martin Dinha – Mashonaland Central, Cde Miriam Chikukwa – Harare Metropolitan Province and Ambassador Cain Mathema who has been redeployed in Matabeleland North.

The new Minister of State for Manicaland Province, Cde Monica Mutsvangwa has pledged to ensure that her province adds value to the economy of Zimbabwe.

Only two deputy ministers Cdes Davis Marapira and Terence Mukupe who have constituencies have been retained.